Moving Forward in Forgiveness

Moving Forward in Forgiveness

Discover how to release forgiveness God’s way and propel ahead in life

Genesis 50: 15 – 20 (NIV) When Joseph’s brothers saw that their father was dead, they said, “what if Joseph holds a grudge against us and pays us back for all the wrongs we did to him?” So they sent word to Joseph, saying, “your father left these instructions before he died: ‘this is what you are to say to Joseph: I ask you to forgive your brothers the sins and the wrongs they committed in treating you so badly.’ Now please forgive the sins of the servants of the God of your father.” When their message came to him, Joseph wept. His brothers then came and threw themselves down before him. “We are your slaves,” they said. But Joseph said to them, “Don’t be afraid. Am I in the place of God? You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives. So then, don’t be afraid. I will provide for you and your children.” And he reassured them and spoke kindly to them.”

Joseph’s life grew from forsaken to forgiveness. God let Joseph forget the pain of the past and family household and home sickness. God has blessed Joseph with his own family. Joseph surrendered to God’s larger purpose abiding by Jeremiah 29: 11 – 13: “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Fear not, because God is in control of the situation. Let God be God. God is the God of justice. There’s simply no freedom without forgiveness. Tell yourself, “I refuse to seek revenge!” for God says in Romans 12:19 “It is mine to avenge. I will repay.” and in Ephesians 4:32 “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”

Lord I thank you for sustaining me through this journey of painful recovery. Lord I let you come into my pain and bring healing to me. God you’re good all the time.

Lord we want to be set free today by the power of your spirit in forgiveness so we can walk out in freedom. Amen.

Leave a Reply

